I am the first to admit that I am not a patient person. I like being active. So, on the first sunny day I went down to my garden and cleared out what was left of the Potatoes and prepared the earth to receive a new Something. What that Something would be wasn’t yet too clear to me. I consulted the Internet for things to plant in September. Not helpful. I went to the garden center to see what they had to offer. And there it was: a shelf full of chicoree. It looked sort of like lettuce so I thought I’d have a go at it, having been a successful lettuce grower.

Back home I couldn’t wait to get that chicoree in the ground. I made nice little rows of holes, added rich soil, dragged the hose out and set about sticking my chicoree plants into their new home.

Full of hope and inspriation the plants went in, were watered (the Internet said chicoree loves water). Job completed, I went inside and rewarded myself with an aperitif.

If this photo looks like the one above, don’t think you need glasses. Full of hope and inspriation the next morning I hurried down to the chicoree bed to find that half the plants had disappeared. No s*** Sherlock! There were neat little holes where the plants should have been. It was like one of those cartoons where Something comes in the night and drags the plants underground.

In a fury, I told Reg(my Beloved) that Something had come in the night and eaten half of my chicoree. Ever so sympathetically he offered to get to the bottom of this, suggesting that he had heard that bears like chicoree. BEARS???? We don’t have BEARS. ONLY THE OCCASIONAL FAMILY OF WILD BOARS. So I returned to the garden and counted what was left of my chicoree crop. Not much. But I did notice Something Strange.  One of my Teddy Bears was sitting nearby looking ever so innocent.

Back up to the house to tell Reg who had a silly grin on his smirking face.

“I told you bears like chicoree.”

Giving that bear a good lecture.

Not that it did any good. Bears have the attention span of a demented fly.

Today, the sad end of my lament: All of my chicoree is missing. Bear is back on my book shelf looking smug and a little nauseous. Serves him right. I am not sure I wanted that chicoree anyway.

Any ideas for something I can plant in September in a place formerly occupied by 14 chicoree plants and a bear? Like I said, I am not a patient person.

